Kinky Creative

The Broadway musical, Kinky Boots, won several Tony awards including Best Musical.  My daughter and I saw it in New York City a few years ago, and I really liked it.  It wasn’t perfect, but it was a beautiful story with great music and lots of fun!  Of course, for me as an adolescent in the 80’s, the fact that Cyndi Lauper wrote the music and lyrics was icing on the kinky cake!

The core of this colorful story is about the relationships in our lives – family, friends, business associates – and how we see each other and work together (or not) with our many differences. The musical was harsh and sweet, complex and constantly changing, much like our world today.

I will not change!  I will not change!  I will not change!

Ok, ok…OK!  There seems to be areas of our society where change has not been good for everyone or anyone. But let’s talk about that.  Let’s open up and talk! More importantly, let’s listen.

In our communities, our offices, our churches, our flag football leagues, or our Bunco groups, we have opportunities to learn from each other.  These are important chances to talk with our friends and fellow citizens.  It is so easy to simply rush home and not get involved in each other’s lives.  It is so easy to stop listening, stop learning…stop creating.

When I squint really hard, I can look back and remember what I was like at the age of five.  I made new friends.  I asked questions.  I wanted to know how things worked, and I loved working for hours on projects using my imagination and artistic skills.  Some believe that creativity is only for children or those who are professional artists, but I dispute that!

This new blog is an opportunity for me to live out loud – creatively and colorfully!  I invite you to join me, stirring up conversations and challenging our creative juices.  What I have discovered is that remembering the pungent smell of glue from kindergarten is extremely important not only for excelling, but enjoying our ever-changing world.   Getting back to the resourceful roots of our childhood helps us negotiate in business and better appreciate our leisure time.   I believe we all are creative and better when we boldly utilize these skills and talents.  For important causes in our communities, we can compose a narrative like a skilled novelist or present a position like a great Shakespearean actor.  Just like a Broadway musical, it might not be perfect, but together we can kick it up with some awesome creative powers!

2 thoughts on “Kinky Creative

Leave a Reply

