Warm Thoughts and Wishes from Louisiana!

It is cold in the South this weekend!  This sentence must make those who live in areas where the temperatures are well below freezing laugh out loud, but I have to be honest, I am wishing for warmer temps.

The South does not like cold weather. Some of us who live here forget how much we detest the cold until it arrives for a few days each winter. We may complain about the heat in August, but we can handle the heat. Which reminds me of a wonderful trip I took this past summer to Palm Springs, California, but first to focus on the here and now…

We don’t have time for the cold weather in Louisiana because things are heating up for Mardi Gras! Carnival season begins on Epiphany or Three Kings’ Day which is January 6th each year and ends on Mardi Gras, the Tuesday before Ash Wednesday. This is the Tuesday that is 47 days before Easter. With balls (or bals), beads, and king cake eating, the season lasts over a month, but you find more parades and fun the closer you get to Mardi Gras.

So the chilled air today has me thinking about the warmer temperatures in Palm Springs. Winter is the peak tourism season in the desert, but when I had the opportunity to go to Palm Springs in July, I went! It was hot – very hot. I had a blast attending a work conference with my boss who half-jokingly said, “only in the non-profit world would we be in Palm Springs for a conference in the summer!” The hotel rates were reasonable, but there were other advantages as well.

image

Not being able to sleep the night I arrived, I was treated to the continuously changing desert beauty from my hotel balcony. The incredible starry night sky dipped all the way down to the mountain tops turning them purple then eventually golden as my first morning in Coachella Valley began. It was breathtaking to watch, and I quickly grabbed my swimsuit and took advantage of a vacant pool. I thought to myself that though this was not the prime season to visit, this was an amazing gift. Also, to my surprise I needed a jacket on top of gorgeous Mount San Jacinto.

Palm Springs was the hip and happening getaway for the Rat Pack and other famous people in the 1950’s and 60’s, and I completely understand the allure.  My mind was boggled with the new sensations and experiences. I felt like a young child, and I loved every minute! Attending a Mardi Gras parade for the first time might be a similar experience for someone who has never seen the loud and colorful parades march down the streets. It may even be a bit scary, but wherever you may find yourself, at whatever age, take in a new adventure and enjoy!  (And stay warm!)

2 thoughts on “Warm Thoughts and Wishes from Louisiana!

Leave a Reply

